Ubuntu Problems

Hello, I’m new to both Renoise and Ubuntu, recently took the plunge to use ubuntu as the stability and design of the OS appealed to me. My question is probably going to come across as very noob-ish, however, it needs to be resolved non the less. I have been a user of Cubase for years but wanted to try something new so have downloaded the renoise Demo (with intent of buying).The problem is, when I run the install.sh file in the terminal, the terminal simply closes and nothing happens. Following this I attempted to run the install within the terminal, which looked like this:

paddy@paddy-HP-Pavilion-dv6-Notebook-PC:~$ cd
paddy@paddy-HP-Pavilion-dv6-Notebook-PC:~$ cd Renoise_2_6_0_Demo_x86_64
paddy@paddy-HP-Pavilion-dv6-Notebook-PC:~/Renoise_2_6_0_Demo_x86_64$ sh install.sh
Sorry, must be root to (un)install…
paddy@paddy-HP-Pavilion-dv6-Notebook-PC:~/Renoise_2_6_0_Demo_x86_64$

I then, attempted to run this:
paddy@paddy-HP-Pavilion-dv6-Notebook-PC:~/Renoise_2_6_0_Demo_x86_64$ ./renoise
bash: ./renoise: Permission denied
paddy@paddy-HP-Pavilion-dv6-Notebook-PC:~/Renoise_2_6_0_Demo_x86_64$

For some reason I am told that Permission is denied, despite the fact permissions for all of the relevant files are granted.

Any help? Please, be easy on me and bare in mind I am a complete noob to this OS.

Thank you.

Thank you!

Can’t believe it was that easy!

Sorry, install has worked, however when I try and run it, it will not open. Any suggestions on what may have gone wrong?

Sorry, another noob question, but how do I run as Sudo, presumably I should be typing something along the lines of

paddy@paddy-HP-Pavilion-dv6-Notebook-PC:~/Renoise_2_6_0_Demo_x86_64$ gksudo application.renoise

However, this has the same effect as attempting to run from desktop icon?

Have also tried this:

paddy@paddy-HP-Pavilion-dv6-Notebook-PC:~$ gksudo application.name
renoise
paddy@paddy-HP-Pavilion-dv6-Notebook-PC:~$ renoise